Our Work

NCE Maritime CleanTech (NCE MCT) represents one of the world’s most complete maritime commercial hubs.

Our cluster organisation uses the Norwegian maritime expertise, built up over generations, as a springboard for the development of new energy-efficient and environmental friendly technologies.

We focus on establishing sustainable innovation projects with commercial potential, and work together for new clean maritime solutions.

Brochure | Our statutes | Our history | Our participantsJoin us

Contact us

Main office:
Meatjønnsvegen 74
N-5412 Stord

Office in Bergen:
Thormøhlens gate 41

The administration

Our vision:

World-Leading Cluster for Clean Maritime Solutions

Our main goal:

NCE Maritime CleanTech shall strengthen the cluster partners’ competitiveness by developing and launching innovative solutions for energy-efficient and clean maritime activities:

  • Increased innovation
  • Strengthen the knowledge base
  • Increased cluster attractiveness for investors and new recruitments
  • Strengthen the cluster´s resource base
  • Stimulation of market pull effects

Our values:

Cluster participants share the following core values:

  • Collaboration shall create mutual benefits for the participants and is crucial for developing new technology
  • Success through cooperation
  • Confidence for competition in a orderly manner

Taking part in our cluster collaboration requires commitment, trust, openness and cooperativeness.



Over 30 000


Over 300 Million

NOK in revenues

The Administration

Hege Økland


Tel: +47 957 53 695

Paul Helland

Project Manager Innovation

Tel: +47 482 36 311
E-mail: paul@maritimecleantech.no

Marie Engelsen Launes

Head of Communications

Tel: + 47 976 53 966

Håvard Tvedte

Project Manager

Tel: + 47 926 30 119
E-mail: haavard@maritimecleantech.no

Marte Jensen

EU Advisor

Tel: + 47 984 23 371

Marius Knutsen

Communication Consultant

Tel: + 47 480 03 934
E-mail: marius@maritimecleantech.no

The Board

Bjørn Sundland (Gasnor) – Chairman of the board
Liv Reidun Grimstvedt (Høgskulen på Vestlandet) – Deputy chairman
Erik Hjortland (Odfjell)
Kristin Flornes (NORCE)
Hans Petter Nesse (Wärtsilä)
Terje Johansen (Kværner)
Tor Inge Dale (Solstad Offshore)
Ada Martine Jakobsen (NorthSea Container Line)
Helge Gjøsæter (Leirvik)
Vermund Hjelland (Eidesvik)

Deputy board member:
Asbjørn Tverdal (Haugaland Kraft)
Pål Tveitevåg (BKK)

The Board is elected by the Annual Meeting.